Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

The membership of Senate is broadly representative of the university community. A majority of senators are faculty members and academic librarians. Faculty members are elected to represent all faculties and departments across the university, as well as affiliated and federated colleges. Senate also includes: eight students (including one graduate student and at least one student from Brantford), three alumni, one staff member and two representatives of the secondary school system of Ontario.

Senate also has several ex-officio members. In addition to the president and vice-chancellor of the university, who chairs Senate, each vice-president, dean of a Faculty, the chancellor, university librarian, registrar and head of each federated or affiliated college are ex-officio members.

The officers of Senate include the chair, vice-chair and secretary. The chair is the president and vice-chancellor per the Wilfrid Laurier University Act, while the vice-chair and secretary are elected by Senate in accordance with the governing documents.


  • Senate Chair: Deborah MacLatchy, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Senate Vice-Chair: TBC
  • Senate Secretary: John Schwieter

Ex-Officio Members

  • Chancellor: Eileen Mercier
  • President and Vice-Chancellor: Deborah MacLatchy
  • Chair, Board of Governors: Paul Elliott
  • Principal-Dean, Martin Luther University College (Waterloo Lutheran Seminary): Kristine Lund
  • Interim Provost and Vice-President: Academic: Heidi Northwood
  • Vice-President: Advancement and External Relations: Jason Coolman
  • Vice-President: Finance and Administration: Lloyd Noronha
  • Vice-President: Student Affairs: Ivan Joseph
  • Vice-President: Research: Jonathan Newman
  • Vice-Provost: Teaching and Learning: Mary Wilson 
  • Associate Vice-President: Academic: Patricia McLaren 
  • Associate Vice-President: Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Barrington Walker
  • Associate Vice-President: Indigenous Initiatives: Darren Thomas
  • Dean, Faculty of Arts: Sofie Lachapelle
  • Dean, Faculty of Social Work: Kathy Hogarth
  • Dean, Faculty of Education: Maria Cantalini-Williams
  • Acting Dean, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies: Brent Wolfe
  • Dean, Faculty of Music: Cynthia Johnson Turner
  • Acting Dean, Lazaridis School of Business and Economics: Shelley McGill
  • Dean, Faculty of Science: Anthony Clarke
  • University Librarian: Gohar Ashoughian
  • Dean, Faculty of Liberal Arts: Janny Leung
  • Dean, Faculty of Human and Social Sciences: Bruce McKay
  • Assistant Vice-President: Enrolment Services and Registrar: Jennifer Casey

Elected/Appointed Members

  • Three appointed by the Board of Governors:
    • Savvas Chamberlain
    • Celina Corner
    • Doug Treleaven
  • One elected by administrative staff: Maureen Coulter
  • One elected by academic librarians: Hélène LeBlanc
  • Seven elected by undergraduate students (two-year terms):
    • Mohammad Abu-Rshaid
    • Nasik Amanullah
    • Evan Cameron
    • Cole Dermott
    • Nur Elmasri
    • Matthew Schwarze
    • Vacant
  • One elected by graduate students (two-year term): Ali Diebold  
  • Three appointed by the Alumni Association:
    • Sarah Cameron
    • Axel Noreiga
    • Caitlin Smith
  • Two appointed by Senate to represent the Ontario Secondary School System:
    • TBC
    • Claudine VanEvery-Albert
  • Two members of faculty from Martin Luther University College (Waterloo Lutheran Seminary):
    • Ara Parker
    • Daniel Maoz
  • Eight from the Faculty of Arts:
    • Erich Fox Tree
    • Andrew Herman
    • Penelope Ironstone
    • Loren King
    • Lucy Luccisano
    • John Schwieter
    • David Smith 
  • Eleven from the Lazaridis School of Business and Economics:
    • Abijith Acharya 
    • Mike Brolley
    • Ling Chu
    • Anne Domurath
    • Azim Essaji
    • Salar Ghamat
    • Esther Maier
    • Kalyani Menon
    • Tracy Snoddon
    • David Wheatley
    • Jessie Zhan
  • Two from the Faculty of Education:
    • Avis Beek
    • Julie Mueller
  • Two from the Faculty of Liberal Arts:
    • Danielle Law
    • Kenneth Werbin
  • Three from the Faculty of Human and Social Sciences:
    • Dan Antonowicz
    • Rosemary McGowan
    • James Popham
  • Two from the Faculty of Music:
    • Deanna Yerichuk
    • Gerard Yun
  • Nine from the Faculty of Science:
    • Pam Bryden
    • Roger Buehler
    • Mary-Louise Byrne
    • Chinh Hoang
    • Vladimir Kitaev
    • Roman Makarov
    • Scott Ramsay
    • Ketan Shankardass
    • Margaret Walton-Roberts 
  • Two from the Faculty of Social Work:
    • Maryam Khan
    • Anh Ngo

Updated as of July 11, 2022



We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.